News Center

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Franciscan St. Francis Health’s ER nurse chief to receive Fellows honor

INDIANAPOLISIndia J. Taylor Owens, R.N., director of Emergency Services for Franciscan St. Francis Health, has been named a Fellow in the Academy Emergency Nursing (AEN).

She is being recognized for making “enduring and substantial contributions” to emergency nursing to advance that specialty. Candidates selected as Fellows are recognized for their efforts to promote emergency nursing and the systems in which it is delivered. Owens will receive her honor at the AEN’s national gathering next September in San Diego, Calif.

A nurse for 34 years, Owens oversees all emergency services and EMS operations at Franciscan St. Francis’ hospitals in Indianapolis and Mooresville.

She is credited for developing the Emergency Nursing Associations Lantern award, and her contributions to emergency nursing professional journals; and her leadership in effecting legislation nursing excellence and patient safety in Indiana.

In 2008, she served as a clinical expert for a state-commissioned group to develop new standards of care and pandemic influenza preparedness.

She received an associate’s degree in nursing at Indiana University (IU) and bachelor’s in nursing at Indiana Wesleyan University (IWU). Owens also earned a master’s of science in nursing administration at IU.

A resident of Fairland, she has been published in various professional journals.

Certified as a nurse executive and as an emergency nurse, she has held various academic appointments at the University of Indianapolis and currently is adjunct faculty at IWU. She also was the 2010 recipient of the Indianapolis Star Nurse of the Year Advancement of Nursing Award.

Owens has memberships in several professional organizations, including Sigma Theta Tau Alpha, Emergency Nurses Association (state and local chapters) and the Indiana State Nurses Association.