News Center

Thursday, June 11, 2009

St. Francis Hospital nurses lauded for professional excellence

INDIANAPOLIS – Several nurses were recognized for service and leadership in their respective fields at the 2009 St. Francis Hospital & Health Centers Excellence in Nursing ceremony.

The ceremony and banquet was among the recent events honoring the service of St. Francis’ 1,450 nurses.The award categories, recipients and their service areas:
Clinical: Lynn Robbin (Palliative Care, Beech Grove) and Lindsey Zander (Bone Marrow Transplant, Beech Grove)
Community Service: Sandie Hickey (School Nurse Program, Indianapolis) and Norva Perkins (Obstetrics, Mooresville)
Preceptor/Mentor: Julie Gausvik (Bone Marrow Transplant, Beech Grove) and Stacy Glass (Bone Marrow Transplant, Beech Grove)
Professional Development: Brenda Hood (Adult Critical Care, Beech Grove) and Deb Hillman (Bone Marrow Transplant, Beech Grove)
Each nurse received a cash stipend for educational seminars and a plaque.

The ceremony also recognized the 2009 Richard E. Fry, M.D., Memorial Nursing Scholarships, a program funded by the St. Francis Healthcare Foundation. The scholarships are awarded to those in good standing and who either have been accepted or enrolled in an accreditied nursing program.

The recipients: Andrea Marie Amonette, Molly Bryant, Carly Horvath, Morgan Huser, Lillian Mwamba and Diann Randall.

Nurses from St. Francis’ Career Advancement and Recognition of Excellence program also were recognized at the honors banquet.

To learn more about student nursing programs at St. Francis, go to